I am a wife, daughter and fur mom. That is such a simple sentence, but it says more about me than you may realize.

I love my family and everything I do is for them. That defines who I am in a nutshell.

Professional Information

Education

I graduated from Eastern Kentucky University with my Bachelor of Arts degree in English with an emphasis in Technical Writing.

I worked as a Technical Writer in manufacturing until 2009, when the economy shifted. Somehow, Technical Writer was not one of the jobs that survived the great recession.

Collections

Afterward, I worked for a large bank's Collections department. No, I didn't enjoy this job, although it was lucrative. I primarily worked with mortgages and second mortgages in my time there.

Although I didn't enjoy my soul-crushing time there, I did learn quite a bit about mortgages, finance, and other banking products.

Healthcare

Once I left my job in Collections, I performed contract work for the federal government, in healthcare. Thankfully, it was not quite as soul crushing as the collections position.

I gained knowledge about a variety of healthcare matters while working in this position, specifically about health insurance.

Freelance Writing and Blogging

Since 2016, I have been performing freelance writing and freelance blog writing services. Honestly, I love it! I have met some amazing people and learned about some very random things along the way.

I now write for private clients in a number of industries. If you have any questions about my work, feel free to contact me. I won't bite, I promise! ūüėČ

I can write with or without a byline (credit for my writing). I have written articles and content for security companies, attorneys, physicians, as well as crafting websites, and general business websites. 

Personal Life

about me - Jackie Ison

Crafter

I am a general crafter and DIY practitioner (Is that the right word?). I love fiber arts (crocheting, knitting, tatting, yarn dyeing, etc.) and have written both crochet and knitting patterns that are available on Ravelry.

about me home

Hiker

I love to hike! The picture on the top-left of this page is a picture of the trail that inspired this passion. Most of my hikes are local, with the exquisite scenery that only the Appalachians can provide.

The picture above is the view from my backyard. It is awe-inspiring and beautiful! I couldn't ask for a better place to hike and boost my creativity. I am very blessed!

Family

I have been married for 11 years to the love of my life. Together we have survived many hurdles and, no doubt, will survive many more. We don't have human children, but share our lives with three cats (Bub is the kitten pictured above), two dogs, and two pet chickens.

I am very close to my family and wouldn't trade anything for it. I was raised by a single mother and have a brother. My dad (pictured above) is married to whom I can only describe as the best stepmom ever! I also have two stepsisters and a nephew, all of whom I absolutely adore.

Final Notes

I know I am missing awesome friends and family members. If I were to include everyone, this would be the longest "About page" in history. 

Thanks to all of my friends and family who support me and have helped mold me into the woman I am today. 

-Jackie

Collections

Afterward, I worked for a large bank's Collections department. No, I didn't enjoy this job, although it was lucrative. I primarily worked with mortgages and second mortgages in my time there.

Although I didn't enjoy my soul-crushing time there, I did learn quite a bit about mortgages, finance, and other banking products during my time there.

Healthcare

Once I left this job, I performed contract work for the federal government, in healthcare. I am not allowed to disclose more information about my job, but it was not quite as soul crushing as the collections position.

Freelance Writing and Blogging

Since 2016, I have been performing freelance writing and freelance blog writing services. Honestly, I love it! I have met some awesome people and learned about very random things along the way.

I now write for private clients in a number of industries. If you have any questions about my work, feel free to contact me. I won't bite, I promise! ūüėČ

Personal Life

about me - Jackie Ison

Crafter

I am a general crafter and DIY practitioner (Is that the right word?). I love fiber arts (crocheting, knitting, tatting, yarn dyeing, etc.) and have written both crochet and knitting patterns

about me home

Hiker

I love to hike! The picture on the top-left of this page is a picture of the trail that inspired this passion. Most of my hikes are local, with the exquisite scenery that only the Appalachians can provide.

The picture above is the view from my backyard. It is awe inspiring and beautiful! I couldn't ask for a better place to hike and boost my creativity. I am very blessed!

Family

I have been married for 11 years to the love of my life. Together we have survived many hurdles and will survive many more. We don't have human children, but share our lives with three cats (Bub is the kitten pictured above), two dogs, a guinea pig, and two hens.

I am very close to my family and wouldn't trade anything for it. I was raised by a single mother and have a brother. My dad (pictured above) is married to whom I can only describe as the best stepmom ever! I also have two stepsisters and a nephew, all of whom I absolutely adore.

Final Notes

I know I am missing awesome friends and family members. If I were to include everyone, this would be the longest "About page" in history. 

Thanks to all of my friends and family who support me and have helped mold me into the woman I am today. 

-Jackie